Fatale 7Fatale is Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips' awesome, new noir-inspired look at secret cults, drugged out actors, and the seedy underbelly of Hollywood. It takes all of the classic elements of old crime stories and mixes them up with a big helping of the supernatural to create a new series that is totally unlike anything else out there. Brubaker utilizes a unique first-person narration that isn't commonly seen in modern comics to give the reader a look into the mind of his character. As readers, we get to experience the doubts and worries that plague Miles as he unravels this mystery right along with us.

 

Saga 6The joke of “Go read this now” is common enough in reviews, but I literally mean it here. Saga is an ongoing story in a strange and fascinating universe that takes time to become familiar with and is worth every moment of investment. If you like Brian K. Vaughan's other work or the summary below sounds interesting, you should go read Issues #1-#5, and then come back to this review in anticipation for the release of Issue #6.

Reed Gunther V2Fans of Shane and Chris Houghton’s all-ages comic book series, Reed Gunther, will be ecstatic to learn that the familial duo recently released their second trade paperback, Reed Gunther Volume 2: Monsters and Mustaches!  Everyone’s favorite loud-mouthed cowboy, Reed Gunther, and his trusty bear Sterling are entangled in more hilarious adventures in this collection of Issues #6-10, which also includes lots of exciting extras like an introduction by Simpsons comic book writer Ian Boothby, Reed Gunther short stories, and fantastic sketches and pin-up art!  And, to commemorate the release of Monsters and Mustaches, the Houghton brothers have a very special treat for readers who may be new on the trail of the bear-riding cowboy.

 

Invincible 94As far as I am concerned, if I was only able to have one comic book title in my pull list, that book would be Invincible. As the series approaches Issue #100, it still remains as fresh and exciting as ever.

SPOILERS BELOW

Serenity Those Left BehindIs there seriously anything better than getting more Firefly? Methinks not. I went into Serenity: Those Left Behind completely in the dark as to what it was about, when it took place, and who was involved, which left me completely satisfied at the ending. 


MAJOR SPOILERS BELOW

To Read ListThe ‘To Read’ List:

Moriarty: the Dark Chamber by Daniel Corey, Anthony Diecidue, Perry Freeze, and Dave Lanphear
The Umbrella Academy: Apocalypse Suite by Gerard Way and Gabriel Ba
The Light by Nathan Edmondson and Brett Weldele
The Re(a)d Diary by Steven T. Seagle and Teddy Kristiansen


Read This Week:

Lost Dogs by Jeff Lemire
The Underwater Welder by Jeff Lemire



Detective Comics 1 DCNU52 Catch Up is a series devoted to looking at issues from DC's New 52 and seeing how they're faring now that they're underway, why they're worth reading (or not), and places we hope they will go in time.

 

Concept:

In the heart of Gotham, one man protects the innocent from the crazed psychopaths that terrorize the streets; a man feared throughout the city, for he is justice to the weak-minded criminals.  He is Batman, a man with supreme intelligence, an insatiable drive to fix the city’s problems, and the ability to be considered the world’s greatest detective.

 
 

SPOILERS BELOW

Dial H with Review52 Catch Up is a series devoted to looking at issues from DC's New 52 and seeing how they're faring now that they're underway, why they're worth reading (or not), and places we hope they will go in time.

 

 

Concept:

Dialing 4376 (HERO) at a mysterious phone booth transforms Nelson Jent into a new superhero every single time. He begins to use his new gifts to help his friend Darren who has gotten in deep with the local criminals, but Nelson is about to get in way over his head.


 

MAJOR SPOILERS BELOW

Batman 12 DCNUFanboy Comics Contributor Jason Enright brings you his top comic book picks for the week.

 

 

Batman #12
by Scott Snyder and Becky Cloonan

Batman #12 is unlike any Batman comic I have ever read before, and I could not be happier. Scott Snyder tells an amazing story about a young woman who is inspired by Batman to change her life for the better, and in doing so he may have just created a new favorite Bat character. What really stands out about this book thoughout is the amazing art by Becky Cloonan. Her style is fresh, vibrant, and, unlike a lot of the darker art we're used to in Batman books, a lot of fun. Even better, Snyder writes to her strengths, so that her style fits this story perfectly. You will definitely want to pick up this book, as it may be the standout issue of the year, and you definitely don't want to miss the introduction of Harper Row, the coolest new DC character.



 

Dancer 4Nathan Edmondson writes the best action/thriller comics today. He has killed it with books like The Activity, Who is Jake Ellis?, and Grifter. So, there was no doubt in my mind that Dancer, his latest creation would be just as awesome. Even though I highly enjoy his work, I've been especially impressed with Dancer. What makes Nathan's work especially poignant are the characters he crafts and the relationships he builds for them. Between all the intrigue, violence, and mystery, he manages to fit very realistic human moments in all of his books. Without giving away too much about this series' unique twist, let's just say that Dancer has one of the more unique hero/villain relationships and that really shines through in this issue.

Page 297 of 320
Go to top